Deactivate an employee's user account
When an employee leaves your company, you can deactivate their account to prevent further access to Planday. To deactivate an employee, follow these steps:
Go to People > Employees.
Please search for the employee you want to deactivate and click on their name.
Under the employee’s information overview, press the delete icon 🗑 to deactivate the employee.
In the deactivate employee prompt that opens, you can either deactivate the employee immediately or set a future automatic deactivation date.
You will also need to choose whether to set the employee’s future shifts to open or leave them assigned to the employee if they will work their remaining future assigned shifts in the Schedule.
Finally, you can add a confidential note visible only to HR managers and Admins to document the reason for deactivating the employee.
Deactivating an admin who originally authorised an Integration
💡 Some integrations such as Square or Lightspeed Retail X-Series will stop working if they were authorised by an admin that is being deactivated by another admin.
A modal will pop up to show if any of the qualifying apps are affected. The other admin will have to reauthorise the relevant integration.
To re-activate an integration, go to Settings > Integrations > Overview, find the relevant one in the list and activate it.
Reactivate an employee's user account
You can see a list of deactivated employees by going to People > Employees > under the Misc section on the left look for the Deactivated group.
Press the employee's name and there you can find the option to Reactivate Employee.
Set up notifications for deactivation
You can configure a message or SMS notification to be sent to you or your fellow managers when an employee is deactivated from Planday.
Go to Settings > Your organisation > Notifications > Deactivated, then add the required recipients. When selecting Add you will be shown a list of all employees. Only managers with access to deactivate other employees (with access level Admin or HR Managers) will be notified of deactivations.
Inactive employee account deletion
To delete an employee account, at minimum, that account must have been inactive for 7+ years. Please see the Fair Work Ombudsman’s website on employers’ Record-keeping obligations for further information on this subject.
If there is agreement from the Planday admin that data can be deleted, then they may contact the Planday support team to request deleting specific employee data permanently, after which it cannot be retrieved. Data related to the account may also be rendered irretrievable. Again, we recommend seeking appropriate advice and information from the Fair Work Ombudsman website before deleting employee information. We also recommend only taking this action when strictly necessary and with due caution, for example, an employee will lose all payroll and HR history.
To request an account deletion, please contact your Planday admin first or the Planday Support team.
Automatically delete deactivated employee accounts
Depending on where your business operates, you may have a legal obligation as an employer to permanently delete information on former employees after their employment has ended.
To automatically delete deactivated users from your Planday account, go to Settings > People > General > Delete deactivated Employees, to turn on the feature and set how many months after deactivation a user should be permanently deleted from your Planday account.
Need more help?
Contact our support team via the blue icon at the bottom if you have more questions.
See related articles: