All Collections
Scheduling
Shifts
Move, copy, delete and approve shifts
Move, copy, delete and approve shifts

Learn essential actions around working with Shifts in the Planday web and the Planday app.

Stina Klauk avatar
Written by Stina Klauk
Updated over a week ago

🎯 For Admins and Schedule managers.

  • The default schedule view in these examples is the Employee view, the functionality remains consistent across different schedule views.

  • Please note that the screenshots may look slightly different between Android and iOS, but the process remains similar.


How to move shifts on the schedule

Drag and drop a Shift to the day an employee should be scheduled to work. This feature is handy if you use open shifts during the Employee view. Simply drag an Open shift and drop it to assign it to an employee.
​

Move shifts in the Planday app

Press and hold a shift and select Move. Then tap on the place in the schedule where you want to move the shift - a blue plus must be visible there.
​

Planday EN Screenshots for helpcenter.001.jpeg

How to copy shifts on the schedule

There are a few ways to copy or duplicate a shift.

  • Hold down the Alt / βŽ‡ Option key (on Mac) or the Alt key (on Windows). While doing so, select a shift and drag it to the desired location on the schedule until a small green plus appears. Drop the shift there to create a duplicate.

  • Alternatively, click on the three dots on the shift and press Copy shift from the drop-down list.

  • You can also create multiple copies when creating shifts.

Copy Shifts in the Planday app

  • Press and hold the shift and select Copy.

  • Then tap on the place in the schedule where you want to copy the shift - a blue plus must be visible there for this.

Planday EN Screenshots for helpcenter.001.jpeg

How to delete shifts from the schedule

You have several options to delete a shift from the schedule:

  • Option 1 - Tap on a shift to open it and press Delete in the edit window from the bottom.

  • Option 2 - Select one or more shifts via the checkbox and press the Delete button from the edit bar at the bottom.

  • Option 3 - Click on the three dots on a shift and select Delete shift from the drop-down list.

  • Option 4 - Navigate to Schedule > Tools > Delete this week to delete all shifts from the current week.

Please note:

When deleting shifts, consider using the Notify employee option to alert employees via a Planday message or SMS. (SMS charges may apply.)

Delete a shift from the Planday app

  • Press and hold a shift in the app and select Delete. Optionally, you can notify the employee if you activate the slider in the confirmation window. Confirm by pressing OK.

  • If you have opened a shift for editing, you will also find the Delete shift option if you scroll to the bottom.

Planday EN Screenshots for helpcenter.001.jpeg

How to approve shifts on the schedule

Please note:

To ensure all suggestions, splits, and employment terms are considered in the approval process, it's best to approve timesheets from the Timesheets page.

Approving allows you to mark in the schedule that shifts have been completed and that they're ready for payroll.
​
You have several options for approving shifts from the schedule:

  • Option 1 - Click on a Shift to open it, switch the slider under Payroll to Approve and confirm via Save.

  • Option 2 - Select one or more shifts using the checkbox and click on the tick icon βœ”οΈ from the action bar at the bottom to Approve shifts.

  • Option 3 - While hovering over a shift with your mouse, click on the three dots and select Approve from the drop-down list.

  • Option 4 - Navigate to Tools > Approve multiple shifts. Select the days of the week whose shifts you want to mark completed and press Approve.

Approved shifts take on a 🟒 green colour in the Schedule.


See related articles:

ℹ️ Need more help?

πŸ” Search the Help Center | See videos at Tutorials.Planday.com

πŸ’¬ For personalised support

Log in and contact support using the blue icon at the bottom for further questions.

Did this answer your question?